TITLE VII: MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC

Chapter

- 1. GENERAL TRAFFIC REGULATIONS
- 2. BICYCLES
- 3. SNOWMOBILES
- 4. ABANDONED VEHICLES

CHAPTER 1: GENERAL TRAFFIC REGULATIONS

Section

7-1-1 State traffic laws adopt	ed	
--------------------------------	----	--

- 7-1-2 Winter parking limitations
- 7-1-3 Parking restrictions
- 7-1-4 Operation of motor vehicles in public parking lots and ramps
- 7-1-5 Erection of official traffic signs and signals
- 7-1-6 Disorderly conduct with a motor vehicle

§ 7-1-1 STATE TRAFFIC LAWS ADOPTED.

Except as otherwise specifically provided in this code, the statutory provisions in Wis. Stats. Ch. 340 to 348, describing and defining regulations with respect to vehicles and traffic, exclusive of any provisions therein relating to the penalties to be imposed or the punishment for violation of the statutes, are hereby adopted and by reference made a part of this chapter as if fully set forth herein. Any act required to be performed or prohibited by any statute incorporated herein by reference is required or prohibited by this chapter. Any future amendments, revisions or modifications of the statutes incorporated herein are intended to be made part of this code in order to secure uniform statewide regulation of traffic on the highways, streets and alleys of the State of Wisconsin.

§ 7-1-2 WINTER PARKING LIMITATIONS.

- (A) No parking of cars or other vehicles will be permitted on the village streets between November 15 and April 1, during snow removal times.
- (B) During municipal snow removal, the village will not be responsible for any damage to any car or vehicle that is parked within 10 feet of the blacktop or edge of roadway. The owner of any parked car or vehicle will be responsible for the removal of any snow left in avoiding the car or vehicle. Penalty, see § 1-1-7

§ 7-1-3 PARKING RESTRICTIONS.

(A) There shall be no parking from 2:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. in the Business District or on streets that are posted. A fine of \$25 will be imposed for violations thereof.

(B) Parking to be regulated per signs posted in all areas of the village with approval of the Village Board and proper notification. (am. Ord. passed 8-14-2023)

(C) PARKING OF SEMI TRACTOR, TRAILERS OR TRUCKS

- (1) There shall be no parking or stand any semi-tractor and, or trailer on any village streets and rights-of-way. A fine of \$100.00 will be imposed for violations thereof. Failure to comply may result in semi-tractor and, or trailer being towed at the owner's expense.]
- (2) The parking of such semi tractors or such in Residential and Business District areas is hereby declared to be a public nuisance.
- (3) This prohibition is not apply to any truck or semi-truck that is temporarily loading or unloading. (Am., Ord, passed 8-4-2023

§ 7-1-4 OPERATION OF MOTOR VEHICLES IN PUBLIC PARKING LOTS AND RAMPS.

No person who does not hold a valid operator's license shall operate a vehicle in any public parking lot or ramp or in any private parking lot or ramp held out for the use of parking for the general public. All provisions of this chapter and of the Wisconsin Statutes and laws incorporated herein by reference shall be applicable on any parking lot or ramp and on any private parking lot or ramp held out for use of the general public for parking or vehicular travel.

Penalty, see § 1-1-7

§ 7-1-5 ERECTION OF OFFICIAL TRAFFIC SIGNS AND SIGNALS.

The Village Board or its designee shall erect and maintain appropriate standard traffic signs, signals and markings conforming to the rules of the State Highway Commission giving such notice of the provisions of this chapter as shall be required by state law.

§ 7-1-6 DISORDERLY CONDUCT WITH A MOTOR VEHICLE.

- (A) *Conduct prohibited*. No person shall, within the Village of Almond, on public or private property, by or through the use of any motor vehicle, including but not limited to an automobile, truck, motorcycle, minibike, snowmobile or boat, cause or provoke disorderly conduct with a motor vehicle.
- (B) *Definition*. Disorderly conduct with a motor vehicle shall mean the engaging in violent, abusive, unreasonably loud or otherwise disorderly conduct, including or not limited to unnecessary deliberate or intentional spinning of wheels, squealing of tires, revving of engine, blowing of horn(s), causing the engine to backfire, or causing the vehicle, while commencing to move or in motion, to raise 1 or more wheels off the ground.

(Am. Ord. passed 5-8-2000) Penalty, see § 1-1-7

CHAPTER 2: BICYCLES

Section

7-2-1	Operation on sidewalks prohibited
7-2-2	Sirens and whistles prohibited
7-2-3	Lighting equipment
7-2-4	Subject to traffic code
7-2-5	Trick riding prohibited; additional passenger
7-2-6	Operating rules

§ 7-2-1 OPERATION ON SIDEWALKS PROHIBITED.

7-2-7 Forfeiture and penalties

- (A) No person shall run or propel any bicycle on any sidewalk within the village, except bicycles with wheels 20 inches in diameter or less in residential areas for the purpose of learning.
- (B) Bicycles of all sizes may be operated on bridge sidewalks, but shall maintain the right-of-way to pedestrians.

§ 7-2-2 SIRENS AND WHISTLES PROHIBITED.

No bicycle shall be equipped with a siren or whistle attached thereto.

§ 7-2-3 LIGHTING EQUIPMENT.

Every bicycle operated on a street between ½ hour after sunset until ½ hour before sunrise shall be equipped with a light on the front, exhibiting a white light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front, and with a light on the rear exhibiting a red light visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear, except that a red reflector of the type approved by the State Motor Vehicle Department may be used in lieu of a rear light.

§ 7-2-4 SUBJECT TO TRAFFIC CODE.

Every person operating a bicycle shall be subject to the provisions of this Title dealing with the operation of vehicles.

§ 7-2-5 TRICK RIDING PROHIBITED; ADDITIONAL PASSENGERS.

- (A) No person shall operate any bicycle in the village with more than 1 person riding on the bicycle at 1 time, unless the bicycle has 2 regulation seats and handle bars, nor shall any person do any trick riding while operating any bicycle upon any street. Provided, a bicycle operator may carry a child securely attached to his or her person in a backpack or sling and may carry another person on a bicycle if it is equipped with a child's seat securely attached to and properly designed for use on a bicycle.
- (B) *TRICK RIDING* shall mean operation without manual control of the handle bars, weaving, jumping and any other method which necessitates the element of unusual and extraordinary skill and involves unnecessary risk voluntarily undertaken.

§ 7-2-6 OPERATING RULES.

- (A) *Obedience to traffic control devices*. Any person operating a bicycle shall obey the instructions of official traffic control devices applicable to vehicles unless otherwise directed by a law enforcement officer.
 - (B) Stopping, turning and signaling.
- (1) Signal required. No bicycle operator shall suddenly stop, slow down or turn without giving an arm signal required by state law for the operation of motor vehicles. No person shall turn a bicycle into an intersection unless the bicycle is in proper position upon the roadway or turn to enter a provided roadway or driveway unless the bicycle is in proper position on the roadway as required or suddenly turn a bicycle upon a roadway unless and until the movement can be made with reasonable safety. If other traffic may be affected by the movement, no person shall so turn any bicycle without giving an appropriate signal in the manner provided. The signal shall be given continually during not less than 100 feet before turning. When given by arm and hand signals, the signals shall be given from left side of bicycle in the following manner and shall indicate as follows:
 - (a) Left turn: hand and arm extended horizontally;
 - (b) Right turn: hand and arm extended upward; and
 - (c) Stop or decrease speed: hand and arm extended downward.
- (2) *Prohibited turns*. Whenever a uniform traffic control device is erected indicating that no right or left turn, or U-turn is permitted, no person operating a bicycle shall disobey the direction of the device, except after dismounting from the bicycle to make the turn, in which event the person shall then obey the regulations, ordinances and laws applicable to pedestrians.

Bicycles 7

(3) *Right turns*. Every person operating a bicycle intending to turn to the right at an intersection, alley or driveway shall approach the turning point in the line of traffic nearest the right hand curb of the street.

(4) *Left turns*.

- (a) Every person operating a bicycle intending to turn left at an intersection or to enter an alley or driveway shall approach the point of turning in the line of traffic nearest to the center of the roadway and shall pass to the left of the center of the intersection before turning unless otherwise directed by official traffic control devices.
- (b) At intersections where traffic is moving in the opposite direction, if it is not safe for the operator to make a left turn as above described, he or she shall stay in the right hand lane and drive to the opposite corner, dismount and walk the bicycle to the left hand corner and proceed.
- (c) A bicycle operator may also make a left turn by driving to the opposite corner and then turning left and driving in a normal driving position.
- (5) *Use of crosswalks*. Crosswalks shall be used when walking a bicycle through an intersection.
- (C) *Speed*. No person shall operate a bicycle at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under existing conditions or in excess of any posted speed limit.
- (D) *Clinging to moving vehicles*. It shall be unlawful for any person riding upon a bicycle to cling or attach himself or herself or his or her bicycle to any moving vehicle.
- (E) *Single file riding*. Every person when operating a bicycle on a public highway shall ride the bicycle in a single file and at no time shall ride two or more abreast.
- (F) *Racing*. No person operating a bicycle shall participate in any race, speed or endurance contest with any moving vehicle on a village street.
- (G) Removal of hands from handlebars. No person operating a bicycle shall remove both hands from handlebars or feet from pedals nor practice any fancy or acrobatic riding or stunts in the operation of the bicycle.

§ 7-2-7 FORFEITURE AND PENALTIES.

Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of this chapter shall upon conviction thereof be subject to the penalties as provided by the Wisconsin Statutes, in which case made and provided for unless otherwise provided for by the provisions of this chapter.

CHAPTER 3: SNOWMOBILES

Section

- 7-3-1 State snowmobile laws adopted
- 7-3-2 Speed
- 7-3-3 Unattended vehicles
- 7-3-4 Operation on sidewalks prohibited
- 7-3-5 Operation on private premises prohibited
- 7-3-6 Accidents and accident reports
- 7-3-7 Firearms and bows
- 7-3-8 Driving animals
- 7-3-9 Owner permitting operation
- 7-3-10 Forfeiture and penalties

§ 7-3-1 STATE SNOWMOBILE LAWS ADOPTED.

Except as otherwise specifically provided in this chapter, the statutory provisions describing and defining regulations with respect to snowmobiles in the following enumerated sections of the Wisconsin Statutes are hereby adopted by reference and made part of this chapter as if fully set forth herein. Acts required to be performed or prohibited by the statutes are required or prohibited by this chapter.

- (A) Wis. Stats. § 350.01; Definitions;
- (B) Wis. Stats. § 350.02; Operation of Snowmobiles on or in the Vicinity of Highways;
- (C) Wis. Stats. § 350.03; Right-of-Way;
- (D) Wis. Stats. § 350.04; Snowmobile Races, Derbies and Routes;
- (E) Wis. Stats. § 350.045; Public Utility Exemption;
- (F) Wis. Stats. § 350.047; Local Ordinance to be Filed;
- (G) Wis. Stats. § 350.05; Operation by Youthful Operators Restricted;
- (H) Wis. Stats. § 350.055; Safety Certification Program Established;
- (I) Wis. Stats. § 350.07; Driving Animals;

- (J) Wis. Stats. § 350.08; Owner Permitting Operation;
- (K) Wis. Stats. § 350.09; Head Lamps, Tail Lamps and Brakes, Etc.;
- (L) Wis. Stats. § 350.10; Miscellaneous Provisions for Snowmobile Operation;
- (M) Wis. Stats. § 350.12; Registration of Snowmobiles;
- (N) Wis. Stats. § 350.125; Completion of Application for Registration by Snowmobile Dealers;
- (O) Wis. Stats. § 350.13; Uniform Trail Signs and Standards;
- (P) Wis. Stats. § 350.15; Accidents and Accident Reports;
- (Q) Wis. Stats. § 350.18; Local Ordinances;
- (R) Wis. Stats. § 350.19; Liability of Landowners; and
- (S) Wis. Stats. § 350.99; Parties to a Violation. Penalty, see § 7-3-10

§ 7-3-2 SPEED.

No person shall operate a snowmobile upon any public right of way or highway within the Village of Almond at a speed in excess of that permitted or posted for other motor vehicles or in any public park, or area, at a speed in excess of 25 mph.

Penalty, see § 7-3-10

§ 7-3-3 UNATTENDED VEHICLES.

No person shall leave or allow a snowmobile owned or operated by him or her to remain unattended on any public highway or public property while the motor is running or with the starting key left in the ignition.

Penalty, see § 7-3-10

§ 7-3-4 OPERATION ON SIDEWALKS PROHIBITED.

No person shall operate a snowmobile on any sidewalk, or pedestrian way, within the Village of Almond.

Penalty, see § 7-3-10

Snowmobiles 11

§ 7-3-5 OPERATION ON PRIVATE PREMISES PROHIBITED.

No person shall operate a snowmobile on any private property not owned or controlled by him or her within the Village of Almond without the express consent or permission of the owner. Penalty, see § 7-3-10

§ 7-3-6 ACCIDENTS AND ACCIDENT REPORTS.

- (A) If he or she can do so without serious danger to his or her own snowmobile or to persons on board, the operator of a snowmobile involved in a snowmobile accident within the Village of Almond shall stop his or her snowmobile and shall render to other persons affected thereby such assistance as may be practicable and necessary to save them from or minimize any danger caused by the accident and shall give his or her name and address and identification of his or her snowmobile to any person injured and to the owner of any property damaged in the accident.
- (B) If the snowmobile accident results in death or injury to any person or total property damage in excess of \$200, every operator of a snowmobile involved in the accident shall, as soon as possible, notify the law enforcement officers of the accident and shall, within 10 days after the accident, file a written report thereof with the department on forms prescribed by it.
- (C) If the operator of a snowmobile is physically incapable of making the report required by this section and there was another occupant in the snowmobile at the time of the accident capable of making the report, he or she shall make the report.
- (D) **SNOWMOBILE ACCIDENT** means a collision, accident or other casualty involving a snowmobile.

Penalty, see § 7-3-10

Statutory reference:

Wis. Stats. § 350.05

§ 7-3-7 FIREARMS AND BOWS.

No person shall operate or ride in any snowmobile with any firearm in his or her possession unless it is unloaded and enclosed in a carrying case, or any bow unless it is unstrung or enclosed in a carrying case.

Penalty, see § 7-3-10

§ 7-3-8 DRIVING ANIMALS.

No person shall drive or pursue any animal with a snowmobile, except as a part of normal farming operations involving the driving of livestock.

Penalty, see § 7-3-10

Statutory reference:

Wis. Stats. § 350.07

§ 7-3-9 OWNER PERMITTING OPERATION.

No owner or other person having charge or control of a snowmobile shall knowingly authorize or permit any person to operate the snowmobile who is incapable, by reason of age, physical or mental disability, or is under the influence of intoxicating liquor, fermented malt beverages or controlled substances.

Penalty, see § 7-3-10

Statutory reference:

Wis. Stats. § 350.08

§ 7-3-10 FORFEITURE AND PENALTIES.

Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of this chapter shall upon conviction thereof be subject to the penalties in which case applicable as provided by the Wisconsin Statutes, in which case made and provided for unless otherwise provided for by the provisions of this chapter.

CHAPTER 4: ABANDONED VEHICLES

Section

/- 4 -1	Definitions
7-4-2	Abandoned and disabled vehicles
7-4-3	Wrecked or junked vehicles
7-4-4	Permit for storage of vehicles
7-4-5	License fees

D C ...

- 7-4-6 Enforcement
- 7-4-7 Penalties

§ 7-4-1 DEFINITIONS.

For the purpose of this chapter, the following definitions shall apply unless the context clearly indicates or requires a different meaning.

LICENSING AUTHORITY. The Village of Almond.

PERSON. Any natural individual, firm, trust, partnership, association or corporation.

§ 7-4-2 ABANDONED AND DISABLED VEHICLES.

- (A) No person shall abandon or leave any motor vehicle, towed vehicle or semi-trailer within the Village of Almond for such time and under such circumstances as to cause the motor vehicle, towed vehicle or semi-trailer reasonably to appear to have been abandoned. Whenever any motor vehicle, towed vehicle or semi-trailer has been allowed to remain standing on any alley, street, highway or public place in the Village of Almond for more than 48 hours, the same shall be deemed to have been left or abandoned within the meaning of this section, whether licensed or unlicensed.
- (B) All motor vehicles, towed vehicles or semi-trailers, left in violation of the above section, will be towed away at the owners expense. Penalty, see § 7-4-7

§ 7-4-3 WRECKED OR JUNKED VEHICLES.

- (A) No person owning or having custody of any partially dismantled, non-operable, wrecked, junked discarded or unlicensed motor vehicle, towed vehicle or semitrailer shall allow the vehicle to remain on any premises in the Village of Almond longer than 48 hours after notification thereof.
- (B) Notification under this section may be accomplished by placing a notice in a conspicuous place on the vehicle or by mail setting forth briefly the applicable provisions of this chapter and the date of the notice.
- (C) This section shall not apply with regard to a motor vehicle, towed vehicle or semitrailer on the premises of an active business enterprise operated in a lawful place and manner, when necessary to the operations of the active business enterprise.

 Penalty, see § 7-4-7

§ 7-4-4 PERMIT FOR STORAGE OF VEHICLES.

- (A) No person owning or having custody of any partially dismantled, non-operable, wrecked, junked or unlicensed motor vehicle, towed vehicle or semi-trailer or parts thereof, shall permit them to be kept or stored outside of any building on any real estate located within the corporate limits of the Village of Almond except upon a permit issued by the Village Board, Village of Almond.
- (B) The permit issued by the Village Board shall be signed by the Village President and the Village Clerk and shall specify the quantity and manner of storing the vehicles.
- (C) The Village Board shall take into account the type of person and its location in respect to other businesses, residences and the public view before issuing the permit.
- (D) The permits shall be revocable at any time by the Village Board after a hearing at which it has been found that the permit holder has failed or refused to comply with this chapter of the code. The hearing may be held by the Village Board upon its own motion, or upon a complaint in writing, duly signed and verified by the complainant. The complaint shall state the nature of the alleged failure to comply with this chapter. A copy of the complaint together with a notice of the hearing shall be served upon the permit holder not less than 10 days previous to the date of the hearing. Penalty, see § 7-4-7

§ 7-4-5 LICENSE FEES.

(A) The annual license fee for the permit for storage of vehicles shall be \$15. All the licenses shall expire on December 31 of each year. The license fee is not to be prorated.

(B) Upon application by any licensee and after approval by the Village Board, and upon payment of the annual license fee, the Village Clerk shall issue a certificate renewing the license fee for another year, unless sooner revoked. The application shall be in writing, signed by the applicant, on forms furnished by the village.

§ 7-4-6 ENFORCEMENT.

- (A) It shall be the duty of the Village President and Village Board to enforce the provisions of this chapter.
- (B) They shall make periodic inspections and inspections upon complaint to ensure that the provisions are not violated.
- (C) No action shall be taken unless the village officers shall have inspected or caused to be inspected the premises where the violation is alleged to exist and have satisfied himself that a violation does in fact exist.

Penalty, see § 7-4-7

§ 7-4-7 PENALTIES.

- (A) Any person violating any provision of this chapter shall, upon conviction thereof, forfeit not less than \$25 nor more than \$100 and costs of prosecution, and in default of payment of the forfeiture and costs shall be imprisoned in the Portage County Jail until payment of the forfeiture and costs of prosecution, but not exceeding 30 days for each violation.
 - (B) Each day of violation shall constitute a separate offense.